top of page

Vow (#KuwentongJollibee)


Yes, that’s the title of the first installment of the now-trending pre-valentine TV commercials of Jollibee fast food chain.

In its “Vow” ad, ChickenJoy turned into ChickenSad after a guy did not get the happily-ever-after he deserved as his “JolliBae” only considered him as a “JolliBes.” Netizens felt sad for the “best friend,” who became the poster boy for “those who found joy in loving unconditionally.” [1]

In the Old Testament, there’s the original poster boy of unconditional love. I’m talking about the prophet Hosea. God commanded him to marry Gomer: “When the Lord first began speaking to Israel through Hosea, he said to him, ‘Go and marry a prostitute, so that some of her children will be conceived in prostitution.’” (1:2a, New Living Translation) Whether she was already a prostitute or she eventually became prostitute after leaving Hosea is a debatable issue. The form of the word the Hebrew text used for “prostitute” is about “a personal quality and not to an activity.” [2] So we can only be sure that “the Lord directed Hosea to marry a woman who was imbued with a propensity for sexual liaisons.” [3]

It appears that after running away from Hosea towards the embrace of another man, Gomer fell into hard times that drove her to prostitution. Eventually, she ended up being sold as a slave. But then God commanded Hosea this time to take her back: “Then the Lord said to me, ‘Go and love your wife again, even though she commits adultery with another lover.’” (3:1a) The prophet obeyed the Lord.

Now, that’s what I call unconditional love!

God made it clear that the relationship of Hosea and Gomer is an object lesson about His faithfulness to the nation Israel in spite of her unfaithfulness to Him.

This will illustrate how Israel has acted like a prostitute by turning against the Lord and worshiping other gods. … This will illustrate that the Lord still loves Israel, even though the people have turned to other gods and love to worship them. (1:2b, 3:1b, New Living Translation)

Though He would have to discipline Israel, the Lord also promised to restore the nation.

Oh, how can I give you up, Israel? How can I let you go? … My heart is torn within me, and my compassion overflows. No, I will not unleash my fierce anger. I will not completely destroy Israel, for I am God and not a mere mortal. I am the Holy One living among you, and I will not come to destroy. … Then I will heal you of your faithlessness; my love will know no bounds, for my anger will be gone forever. (11:8a, 8c-9, 14:4, New Living Translation. Emphasis added.)

Though this is not a license to be unfaithful to the Lord, this is a lesson on His faithfulness towards His people. “If we are unfaithful, he remains faithful, for he cannot deny who he is.” (2 Timothy 2:13, New Living Translation) Have you been unfaithful or disobedient to God? Return to Him. Seek His forgiveness.

[1] Kat Domingo (10 February 2017), “Aww to ouch: Jollibee's Valentine ads spur memes, ‘hugot' lines,” ABS-CBN News, retrieved from http://news.abs-cbn.com/.

[2] Walter c. Kaiser, Jr. et al, Hard Sayings of the Bible (IL: InterVarsity, 1996), 292.

[3] Ibid.


EYRICHE CORTEZ

RECENT POSTS

bottom of page